Lynne Rienner Publishers Logo

The Royal Game and Other Stories

Stefan Zweig translated from the German by Jill Sutcliffe and with an introduction by Jeffrey B. Berlin
The Royal Game and Other Stories
ISBN: 978-0-8419-1405-6
ISBN: 978-0-8419-1406-3
2000/211 pages/LC: 99088166
Distributed for Holmes & Meier Publishers
"The five stories, which span [Zweig's] career are sophisticated and suspenseful psychological portraits, reflecting the intellectual culture of prewar Germany."—Publishers Weekly


Stefan Zweig gained early fame as a poet, translator, and biographer. When he added fiction to his repertoire, he won even more critical acclaim. After his death, however, his work fell inexplicably into obscurity.

The Royal Game and Other Stories is a collection of five of Stefan Zweig's brilliant and creative psychological thrillers. Filled with emotional extreme—from obsessive love to pathological revenge to the madness caused by an imaginary chess game—these masterpieces revive his art, making it once again available to a new generation of readers.

This collection includes "The Royal Game," "Amok," "The Burning Secret," "Fear," and "Letter from an Unknown Woman," as well as an introduction by Jeffrey B. Berlin.


Stefan Zweig was born in Vienna in 1881 to an Austrian Jewish family. His tumultuous world encompassed the intellectual heights of turn-of-the-century Vienna, the bleakness of World War I, and the horrors of the Holocaust, which forced him into exile. He took his own life in 1942.
US only.